Make It Happen

The shadow of your smile

When you have gone

Will color all my dreams

And light the dawn

 

Look into my eyes my love, and see

All the lovely things, you are, to me

 

Our wistful little star

It was far, too high

A teardrop kissed your lips

And so, so did I

 

Now when I remember spring

And every little lovely thing

I will be remembering

The shadow of your smile

Your lovely smile

Some dear friends of mine are quite disconsolate over the chance that the New York Mets Apple won’t be making the trip from Shea to the new stadium. They’ve taken their pleas to the streets, in the form of an online petition, over at www.savetheapple.com and all Mets fans who have ever exulted at the majestic sight of the apple rising from it’s top hat should head over there immediately.

While it can be correctly pointed out that I have no affection for the Mets, I do care greatly for the preservation of certain traditions. This trait has been ingrained upon me from years of going to Wrigley Field. I understand the need for new stadiums, especially one as woeful as Shea. But there are certain aspects of every ballpark that are dear to the hometown faithful. Some of these (Ronnie “Woo Woo” Wickers) can’t be held forever, but the apple can be transferred. It’s delighted fans young and old and I don’t understand why there is even a sliver of doubt about it’s survival. I’d go on, but the case is made far better at SaveTheApple. One day the apple will fall, but it will not be this day! Today the fight begins!

Published in: on July 31, 2007 at 4:25 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://easymode.wordpress.com/2007/07/31/make-it-happen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. if dr funky pants reads this please contact us at darksidethugz@hotmail.com I would really wanna get in contact with u.. If anybody else knows how to contact him.. please contact us at the email above thank u


Leave a Reply

